Leo Carmona

Let me share a little about myself

Thank you for selecting my profile, and possibly taking an interest in reaching out and getting to know me. I’d like you to know, that I am grateful for your time, and open to the discussion of any topic, though personal growth and development are my top priorities.

About

Biographical Information

                     MDOC Number:                      529313

                     SID Number:                            2421210M

                     Name:                                    LEO PAUL CARMONA

                     Racial Identification:              Unknown

                     Gender:                                     Male

                     Hair:                                           Black

                     Eyes:                                          Brown

                     Height:                                       5′ 9″

                     Weight:                                      150 lbs.

                     Date of Birth:                            July 7, 1982  (38)

Background Information

General background information:  I am thirty-eight years old, and I was born and raised in Northern California. I am also a father of two. I struggled pretty hard during my youth, and though I had the best of intentions, I just didn’t have any solid direction, guidance, or mentorship. Mind you, this is not meant to be a justification or excuse for poor behavior. I mention it as more of an explanation of where my mindset was, during my critical and formative years. I grew up in poverty and was raised by addicts. I tried very hard to put a lot of thought into the things I did, and wanted to do, (NONE of it, criminal in nature) but having no coping mechanisms with which to deal with setbacks and obstacles, I made a series of continued reckless, and sometimes impulsive choices. Choices that continue to vex me, to this day.

Case background: Presently, I am beginning my seventeenth year of a twenty-five-year sentence for Second Degree Murder. An offense for which I did NOT commit and had no meaningful skill or method to defend against the charge, or even to defend my character in general. The Cooley Law School Innocence Project is currently investigating my case, though sadly, my hope is dwindling.

Character

I am a goofy, kindhearted, thoughtful, compassionate, and empathetic man. I try to help anyone I can, even if I may not know them. I am an avid crocheter, and have frequently made hats, scarves, and child-sized blankets, which have been donated to local shelters, and to children undergoing chemotherapy treatments. I also work for a program that assists elderly and chronically and/or terminally ill prisoners, go for walks, or participate in game leagues. I’ve even helped a few of them learn to crochet. I REALLY want to become a success story, and not just for myself, but also for anyone willing to take a chance on helping me set and achieve my goals.

Contact

The best way to contact me, is through the Jpay App, which is our institutional email service. However, I am also willing to communicate longhand, via the postal service.

Seeking

I am seeking and hoping for several things, with the most crucial, being that of mentorship, guidance, and a pen-pal friendship. I would like to connect with someone who is open-minded and nonjudgmental. I am trying to plan for a life post-prison and would be grateful for any advice and guidance. I do enjoy reading very much, and someone who may be able to provide a book from time to time, would be greatly appreciated. I wish to start my own business upon my release from prison, and someone to provide feedback on my (several) ideas, would be amazing. I am also a writer, and at some point, MAY need assistance with publishing, however, that is more of a long-term project and goal, and not something I would need at present.

 

I avoided the prompts of:
4. Help with commissary
6. Occasional phone conversations
8. Winter clothing -and-
9. Tuition assistance

While such gifts would certainly be greatly appreciated, I was raised by people who believed it to be shameful to impose on others, by asking for such handouts. While I do not necessarily believe that to be completely true, there is just something very deeply ingrained in me, that will not allow me to ask for these types of assistance or gifts. Now, if these things were to be offered, I’d have no problem accepting, (and being very grateful) but I just cannot even bring myself to write that I am seeking, or even in need of such things. It was very difficult, to even write the line about maybe getting a book, from time to time. I hope you understand.

 

Gallary

Podcast with Leo Carmona

Coming soon

Audio message of Leo Carmona

Coming soon

Image Gallary of Leo Carmona

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published.